Dr Adam Tomison

Director General
Last updated: 3 May 2023
Dr Adam Tomison

He first became well known for his work developing the National Child Protection Clearinghouse, an internationally-recognised centre for excellence and the Australian Centre for the Study of Sexual Assault while at the Australian Institute of Family Studies.

Dr Tomison is currently appointed as the Director General of the Western Australian Department of Justice. Prior to this position he was the Director and Chief Executive of the Australian Institute of Criminology from 2009 to 2015 and had previously held various senior executive positions within the Northern Territory Department of Health and Families, including time as the Director of the NT’s statutory child protection and family support services.

He is currently a board member of the International Centre for the Prevention of Crime (Canada). Previously he has been a member of the Executive Council of the International Society for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect, a board member of the National Association for the Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect (NAPCAN) Australia, an Honorary Professor at Australian Catholic University (ACU) and member of the Advisory Board of the Institute of Child Protection Studies (ACU), and a member of the Criminal Justice Working Group of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse.

Dr Tomison graduated with a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Psychology from Deakin University and completed his PhD at Monash University. He received an inaugural Deakin Alumni of the Year Award in 2011 for outstanding service and achievement in his profession and the community.

Corporate Executive Committee

Dr Adam Tomison
Director General
Kati Kraszlan
Commissioner for Victims of Crime
Mark Hainsworth
Executive Director
Advisory Services
Mike Reynolds
Commissioner / Deputy Director General
Corrective Services
Tony Clark
Executive Director
Corporate Services
Joanne Stampalia
Executive Director
Court and Tribunal Services
Geoff Lawn
Parliamentary Counsel
Parliamentary Counsel's Office
Pauline Bagdonavicius
Public Advocate
Office of the Public Advocate
Brian Roche
Public Trustee
Public Trustee
Alison Jackson
Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages
Angela Komninos
Acting State Solicitor
State Solicitor's Office
Kylie Maj
Executive Director
Strategic Reform
James August
Acting Executive Director
Professional Standards