Australian honours and awards - Department of the Premier and Cabinet

How to recognise the outstanding contributors and quiet achievers in our community.
Flowers thank you message

There are hundreds of extraordinary Western Australians who serve across professional, public and community sectors.

However, the number of home-grown nominees is significantly lower compared to other states and territories.

The WA Government is committed to boosting the number of WA nominations for Australian honours and awards.

While the Commonwealth Government manages these awards, it’s important we say thank you by stepping up and nominating our citizens both locally and abroad.

Message from the Premier

Show more
Let’s take this chance to celebrate the work that makes our communities, our State, and our nation, a more enriched and happy place to live.

Australian honours and awards go to people who enrich our lives and communities, who may give quietly, without thought of recognition or personal gain. Honours are an exceptionally meaningful way to make their service visible, and to thank them for the difference it makes.


It is no secret that Western Australians make stellar contributions to their communities, locally, nationally and overseas, and in all manner of fields and endeavours.


However, I believe Western Australians can be stronger contenders for Australian honours and awards. We often nominate fewer people than is our share of the nation’s population – and in doing so, we fail to do ourselves justice.

It’s up to each of us as Western Australians to change this.


It’s important that the contributions made by our citizens are recognised on a national stage. It is also imperative that our nominees reflect the diversity of our citizens. I encourage everyone to put forward the names of people in the community who have made a difference. Step up and shine a light on someone deserving, young or old, male or female and from diverse cultural heritage and language backgrounds.


Regardless of who you are or where you live, your good work deserves recognition.


If someone you know has made an exceptional contribution to your community, don’t let them go unnoticed.

Nominate them for an award in the Australian honours system.


Premier Mark McGowan - photograph

Hon Mark McGowan BA LLB MLA

Premier; Minister for Public Sector Management; State Development, Jobs and Trade; Federal-State Relations

Australia Day 2020 Honours List

Show more
Find out about the Western Australians who were recognised in the Australia Day 2020 Honours List.

In the Australia Day 2020 Honours List, 76 Western Australians were recognised for their contributions to the community, the state and the nation.

Among the award recipients recognised were:

  • Emeritus Professor John Bloomfield AO for his service to higher education in the field of sports science.
  • Mr Bruce Brown AM for his service to the pearling industry and marine research.
  • Sisters Eileen Giles OAM and Patricia Powell OAM for their service to vulnerable women in Rockingham.

The Western Australian Government commends all of the recipients for this recognition of their exceptional service across the professional, public and community sectors.

More information from the 2020 Australia Day Honours List is available on the Government House website.

Nominate someone for an award

Show more
Nominations can be made by any person or group, and at any time.

Do you know of an outstanding contributor or quiet achiever in Western Australia who deserves to be recognised for their service? 

This Western Australian could be nominated for recognition under the Australian Honours and Awards program, which is managed by the Commonwealth Government. This program recognises the outstanding service and contributions of Australians. 

The Order of Australia recognises Australians who have demonstrated outstanding service or exceptional achievement. Nominations can be made by any member of the public; there are four levels of award:

  • Companion: eminent achievement (generally at an international level)
  • Officer: distinguished service (at a national level)
  • Member: for service in a particular locality or field of activity (at a state level)
  • Medal: service worthy of particular recognition (at a local level).

The Department of the Premier and Cabinet now has a dedicated Australian Honours and Awards officer who can provide you with advice and support to nominate Western Australians.  

If you would like advice on or support with an Australian Honours and Awards nomination, please contact the Department on the email or phone number opposite.

Find out more about the different types of Australian honours and awards at the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia or Australian Government websites.

Page reviewed 3 February 2020
Was this information helpful?