Nominations are called for the 2024 Margaret Medcalf Award

News story
Nominations are now called for the 2024 Margaret Medcalf Award which acknowledges excellence in research and referencing of State Archives.
Last updated:
Rottnest Island_Wadgemup_1937_cons4912_cd0754

The Margaret Medcalf Award recognises excellence in research using the State Archives of Western Australia. The Award honours Miss Margaret Medcalf OAM, Western Australia’s second State Archivist, for her valuable contribution to the development of archives in Western Australia.

The winner of this Award receives a cash prize of $1,000 or shares this prize if there is more than one winner. Works nominated must demonstrate the use and accurate referencing of State Archives.

Any work completed or published in 2023 is eligible to be submitted for nomination, and anyone, including the author of the work, may submit a nomination.

Nominated works need not be published, may be fiction or non-fiction, and in any media. Submission of electronic versions of publications are encouraged to assist with judging.

To submit a nominated work please complete a 2024 Margaret Medcalf Award Nomination Form (fillable in most browsers) and email it along with an online link to the work to If the work is only available in print form, please advise us when nominating.

The judging criteria for the Award are:

  • Level of use of the State Archives Collection.
  • Level of contribution to knowledge (historical, cultural, heritage, etc.).
  • Original use of the State Archives Collection.
  • Proficient and consistent use of referencing.
  • Quality of presentation.

For further details including more information about the judging criteria for the Award, see

or contact  

Nominations for the 2024 Margaret Medcalf Award should be addressed to the Executive Director, State Records Office of WA, email, and close on 4pm Wednesday 27 March 2024.