Shortlist for the 2022 Margaret Medcalf Award

News story
Shortlist announced for the Margaret Medcalf Award for excellence in archival research.
Margaret Medcalf Award 2022

The Margaret Medcalf Award recognises excellence in research and the use of State Archives held by the State Records Office of Western Australia. The Award honours Miss Margaret Medcalf OAM, Western Australia’s second State Archivist, for her valuable contribution to the development of archives in Western Australia.

The State Records Office is pleased to announce that the following publications have been shortlisted for the 2022 Award:

  • Commemorating Joseph Ledger Sowden: Citation by Sue Hobson (nee Ledger) - Royal Western Australian Historical Society. 66th Annual Pioneers’ Memorial Service. 6th June 2021. St Bartholomew’s Church, East Perth Cemeteries.
  • Fetch the Doctor: Health and Medicine at Irwin 1850-1940 by Anne Jefferys.
  • Prisoners, Power and Panopticon: Investigating Fremantle Gaol, 1831-1841 by Emily Lanman - Submitted in partial fulfilment for the Master of Philosophy, Notre Dame University, School of Arts and Sciences, Fremantle Campus.
  • Dark tales from the Long River: A bloody history of Australia’s north-west frontier by David Price - First published 2021 by Fremantle Press.
  • Swan River Colony: the first twenty-one years by Pamela Statham Drew - Pandorus Publications, Swanbourne, Western Australia.
  • The Petticoat Parade: Madam Monnier and the Roe Street Brothels by Leigh Straw - Published 2021 by Fremantle Press.
  • Through Silent Country by Carolyn Wadley Dowley - New edition published 2021, Bronzewing Press, Perth, Western Australia. First published by Fremantle Arts Centre Press, 2000.
  • Weerianna: Curating an enduring local landmark by Deon White.

The winner will be announced at an Awards ceremony on 18 November 2022.

For further information about the Award contact us via  

Page reviewed 20 September 2022