Keep Australia Beautiful Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities finalists announced

Media release
30 Western Australian regional and remote communities have been chosen as finalists in the 2023 Keep Australia Beautiful Council (KABC) Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards.
Last updated:

The awards in its 54th year, highlight and recognise regional and remote communities for their efforts in effective litter prevention activities, sustainable projects and positive environmental outcomes.

KABC judges visited entrants across regional and remote Western Australia in September to witness the diversity of projects being carried out.

The judging process enables an understanding of the impact of the submitted projects and for the entrants to showcase the inspiring sustainability initiatives.

The nine award categories include:

  • Litter Prevention
  • Young Legends
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Environmental Education
  • Heritage and Culture
  • Community Action and Wellbeing
  • General Appearance
  • Community Containers for Change
  • Waste management

A gala luncheon will be held on Friday 24 November 2023 at Frasers, Kings Park in Perth to announce the category winners. Six communities are in the running for overall State winner.

The Keep Australia Beautiful Council Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards are funded by the State Government through the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Account, administered by the Waste Authority, and supported by the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation.

Sponsors include Western Australia Return Recycle Renew Limited (WARRRL), Western Australia Landcare Network (WALN), Nat Sales, Vanguard Press, Bank of IDEAS and Rural Aid Australia.

Read more information on the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities awards and finalists.

Comments attributed to KABC Chairman Michael Aspinall:

“Congratulations to the 2023 finalists for their hard work and commitment in contributing towards positive environmental, social and economic changes and planning for a sustainable future.”

“Each year we see regional and remote communities across Western Australia encompass projects and initiatives with a focus on environmental sustainability that reflect a growing awareness of the importance of community-led action.”

“Our Awards provide opportunities for everyone to work together to protect our environment. They prioritise community engagement, connection and sustainability concepts to keep regional communities thriving.”

2023 Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards category finalists:

Litter Prevention

Esperance, Greenbushes, Kalbarri, Nullagine, Three Springs, Walpole

Young Legends

Bunbury, Cunderdin, Gascoyne Junction, Pingelly, Port and South Hedland, Walpole

Environmental Sustainability

Collie, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Karratha, Walpole, Wandering, York

Environmental Education

Albany, Bunbury, Geraldton, Kalbarri, Port and South Hedland, Walpole

Heritage & Culture

Collie, Coorow, Greenbushes, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Pingelly, Port and South Hedland

Community Action & Wellbeing

Cunderdin, Djarindjin, Fitzroy Valley, Pingelly, Roebourne (Ieramugadu), Wongan Hills

General Appearance

Jurien Bay, Meekatharra, Ongerup, Paraburdoo, Sandstone, Walpole

Community Containers for  Change

Albany, Kalannie, Northampton, Port and South Hedland, Three Springs, Wandering

Waste Management

Albany, Gascoyne Junction, Karratha, Margaret River, Port and South Hedland, Walpole

 State Winner

Albany, Greenbushes, Karratha, Pingelly, Port and South Hedland, Walpole