South West Native Title Settlement - Noongar recognition through an Act of Parliament

The recognition of the Noongar People is a central component of the most comprehensive Native Title agreement negotiated in Australian history.

The Noongar people are now formally recognised, through an Act of the WA Parliament, as the Traditional Owners of the south west region of Western Australia. 

The Noongar (Koorah, Nitja, Boordahwan) (Past, Present, Future) Recognition Act 2016, proclaimed on 6 June 2016 to coincide with WA Day 2016, recognises the Noongar peoples' important relationship with the Noongar lands, and their significant and unique contribution to the heritage, cultural identity, community and economy of WA.  

It is also the first statute in WA to incorporate an Aboriginal language.  

The Act is historically significant for the State and is among a number of outcomes negotiated between the Noongar People and the WA Government. 

The successful passage of the Act through Parliament fulfils a central condition to the future commencement of the landmark South West Native Title Settlement.

The Noongar Recognition Bill was initially introduced to Parliament on 14 October 2015. Noongar Elders and representatives attended a morning tea at the WA Parliament and later witnessed the historic second reading speech. 

Noongar (Koorah, Nitja, Boordahwan) (Past, Present, Future) Recognition Act  2016
Noonakoort moort nitja burranginge noongar boodja
Noonakoort moort kwomba
Djinunge nitja mungarrt — koorah
Noonakoort moort yirra yarkinje kwomba noongar boodja
Koorah — nitja — boordahwan
Noonakoort moort yarkinje noongar boodja
Nyidiung koorah barminje noonakoort moort
Wierrnbirt domberrinje
Noonakoort moort koort boodja
Nitja gnulla moorditj karrl Boodja

All our Noongar people stand here on Noongar land.
Past, present and future.
We stand strong on our land.
The mungart tree symbolises our strength and survival.
All of our people stand firm on our land.
Our people are here to stay — we will always be.


Page reviewed 13 January 2020