Aboriginal Cultural Material Committee

The Aboriginal Cultural Material Committee (ACMC) is established under the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 to represent Aboriginal people on heritage matters.

About the ACMC

The role of the ACMC is to:

  • evaluate on behalf of the community the importance of places and objects alleged to be associated with Aboriginal persons
  • where appropriate, to record and preserve the traditional Aboriginal lore related to such places and objects
  • recommend to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs (Minister) places and objects which, in the opinion of the Committee, are, or have been, of special significance to persons of Aboriginal descent and should be preserved, acquired and managed by the Minister
  • advise the Minister on any question referred to the Committee, and generally on any matter related to the objects and purposes of this Act
  • perform the functions allocated to the Committee by this Act
  • advise the Minister when requested to do so as to the apportionment and application of moneys available for the administration of this Act.


Vanessa Kickett, Chairperson
Term of appointment - September 2011 - December 2023
Vanessa is a Whadjuk Noongar who grew up in the Midland area, she has extensive experience working in Native Title in the South West and North West regions. Vanessa is also involved with Heritage and Culture, Native Title and Aboriginal Engagement throughout the State. Vanessa has more than 15 years’ professional experience in Policy, Aboriginal Heritage, Contract management, Native Title and Strategic Engagement with Aboriginal communities.

Merle Carter
Term of appointment - April 2016 - December 2023
A senior Cultural Woman of the Miriuwong Gajerrong people and the Bunuba people, Merle is also the Chairwoman of the Kimberley Aboriginal Law and Culture Centre and a board member of the Kimberley Land Council and Aarnja.

Lindsay Dean
Term of appointment - April 2016 - December 2023
Lindsay was born and raised in the Great Southern (Minang) region and has a strong connection to his people and the land. Lindsay is currently chairperson of the Dreamtime committee which liaises between Lockyer Primary School and the Noongar community to provide positive education outcomes. Lindsay is also a member of the Western Australian Museum Albany Advisory Committee advising on Aboriginal issues as well as a member of the Albany Aboriginal Heritage Reference Group.

David Raftery

Term of appointment - January 2022 - December 2023

David is an anthropologist who has worked in native title, cultural heritage, and land management contexts in Western Australia and the Northern Territory for Aboriginal land councils and as a professional consultant.  David is currently employed by the Western Australian Government’s Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation, where he has worked to negotiate agreements between the WA Government and native title parties that ensure Aboriginal groups fully participate in the state’s social and economic development.

David has a Doctorate in Anthropology from the Australian National University and is a Fellow of the Australian Anthropological Society. 

Ex-Officio members
Tony Castelli, Ex-Officio, Authorised Land Officer
Alec Coles, Ex-Officio, Western Australian Museum
Anthony Kannis, Ex-Officio, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage

Meeting documents and previous decisions

View and download meeting documents and previous decisions

2023 meeting dates

Submission Dates for Section 18

ACMC Meeting Dates

7 December 2022 8 February 2023
11 January 2023 7 March 2023
15 February 2023 11 April 2023
15 March 2023 9 May 2023
19 April 2023 13 June 2023
17 May 2023 11 July 2023
14 June 2023 8 August 2023
  12 September 2023
  10 October 2023
  7 November 2023
  12 December 2023

No further submissions will be accepted after June 2023 under the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972

The Aboriginal Cultural Material Committee will continue to meet to ensure any applications submitted under the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 are completed. 

Page reviewed 14 December 2022