COVID-19 coronavirus: Regional travel restrictions

Regional travel throughout most of WA is now permitted, except entry into the Kimberley region, biosecurity zones and remote Aboriginal communities.

Last updated: 3 June 2020 at 7.46pm

Map of WA travel regions with the Kimberley region highlighted.

From Friday 29 May, some regional travel restrictions have been removed.

Travel is now permitted throughout WA, except for entry into:

  • the Kimberley region
  • the biosecurity zones in parts of the Shire of East Pilbara that encompass the communities of Jigalong, Martu homeland communities and Kiwirrkurra
  • the biosecurity zones of the Shire of Ngaanyatarraku
  • remote Aboriginal communities

Travel exemptions are required to travel to these areas.

Exemptions apply for:

  • people travelling to work
  • attending medical appointments
  • transporting freight
  • those who do not have access to groceries or supplies within their region
  • returning to a place of residence
  • attending school or an educational institution where necessary
  • caring for family members
  • compassionate grounds. 

How do I apply for an exemption?

G2G Pass Logo

If you meet the above exemption criteria, the quickest and simplest way to apply for a regional travel exemption is via the G2G PASS online form. Please submit your application at least 3 days prior to travel. By applying online, you can track your application status and will receive an email with the outcome of your application.

Alternatively, you can submit a paper-based entry into designated biosecurity areas form with supporting documentation.

Checkpoints and mobile police patrols are in place to monitor travel across boundaries and ensure people are doing the right thing.

Police have the power to enforce these restrictions, and issue fines of up to $50,000.

More information:

Page reviewed 3 June 2020
Was this information helpful?