COVID-19 coronavirus: Regional travel restrictions

Regional travel restrictions, boundaries and exemptions.

Last updated: 28 May 2020 at 7.25am

From Friday, 29 May 2020, regional travel restrictions will be lifted, excluding travel to biosecurity zones within the Kimberley region, parts of the Shire of East Pilbara, the Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku and remote Aboriginal communities.

Regional travel restrictions are in place across WA. You will require an exemption to travel between regions.

Current restrictions

From 18 May, some regional travel restrictions have been relaxed as part of WA’s COVID-19 roadmap.

Travel is now permitted:

  1. between the South West, Great Southern, Wheatbelt and Perth-Peel regions
  2. between the Mid West, Gascoyne and Pilbara regions (excluding the biosecurity zone)
  3. within the Goldfields-Esperance region (excluding the biosecurity zone)
  4. within Kimberley local government areas (the Commonwealth’s biosecurity zone remains in place).
Map of updated WA regional borders

Travel exemptions are required to travel between these 4 areas.

Exemptions apply for:

  • people travelling to work
  • attending medical appointments
  • transporting freight
  • those who do not have access to groceries or supplies within their region
  • returning to a place of residence
  • attending school or an educational institution where necessary
  • caring for family members
  • compassionate grounds.

How do I apply for an exemption?

G2G Pass Logo

If you meet the above exemption criteria, the quickest and simplest way to apply for a regional travel exemption is via the G2G PASS online form. Please submit your application at least 3 days prior to travel. By applying online, you can track your application status and will receive an email with the outcome of your application.

Alternatively, you can request approval to travel at the checkpoint by providing WA Police with supporting documentation, such as a letter/email/SMS from an employer, that proves you meet the criteria to travel regional.

Checkpoints and mobile police patrols are in place to monitor travel across boundaries and ensure people are doing the right thing.

Police have the power to enforce these restrictions, and issue fines of up to $50,000.

More information

Page reviewed 28 May 2020
Was this information helpful?