COVID-19 coronavirus: Remote Aboriginal communities - restrictions on entering

Travel restrictions and exemptions for remote Aboriginal communities.

Last updated: 28 May 2020 at 7.26am

The WA Police Commissioner and WA Government are working with the Australian Government to remove restrictions on access to biosecurity zones from 5 June, including the Kimberley region, parts of the Shire of East Pilbara and the Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku.

Restrictions on entering 274 remote Aboriginal communities will remain in place, while consultation continues with the communities to ensure they’re provided with ongoing support after 5 June.


Travel restrictions to remote Aboriginal communities are in place to protect the health and wellbeing of residents.

This includes the following areas:

  • the Kimberley region
  • the Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku
  • parts of the Shire of East Pilbara that encompass the communities of:
    • Jigalong
    • Martu homeland communities
    • Kiwirrkurra.
Map of updated WA regional borders

Under these arrangements, any person who is outside a designated area can only enter that region if that person:

  • is providing essential services or supplies
  • has been quarantined from the general public for the previous 14 days
  • qualifies for a special exemption (including mining and food production) and adheres to strict conditions that minimise the risk of COVID-19 spread.

How do I apply for an exemption?

G2G Pass Logo

If you meet the above exemption criteria, the quickest and simplest way to apply for an exemption is via the G2G PASS online form. Please submit your application at least 3 days prior to travel. By applying online, you can track your application status and will receive an email with the outcome of your application.

Alternatively, you can submit a paper-based entry into designated biosecurity areas form with supporting documentation.

For more information visit:

For information on an exemption, email

The COVID hotline — 13 COVID (13 26843) — is available for members of the public to ask a range of COVID-19 related questions.

The restrictions for the designated areas are enforceable through emergency determination powers under the Biosecurity Act 2015 (Cth).

A jail term of up to five years could apply to those who breach the determination.

Within the Commonwealth designated areas and for all remote Aboriginal communities outside these designated areas, the WA Government’s Remote Aboriginal Communities Directions will continue to apply.

Breaches of these directions could attract a fine of up to $50,000.

Page reviewed 28 May 2020
Was this information helpful?