Applications are open for the 2023 Premier’s Science Awards

News story
WA's brightest minds in science, technology, engineering and mathematics are invited to apply, with $100,000 in prize money across 6 categories – and nominations for the WA Science Hall of Fame are open.

Last updated: 17 March 2023
Banner announcing Premier's Science Awards 2023 are open

Are you doing ground-breaking research in science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) in Western Australia?

Why not apply for the 2023 Premier’s Science Awards?

The winner of each category will receive a generous cash prize and a professional video to promote their work and achievements. 

The 2023 Premier's Science Award categories are:

  • Scientist of the Year ($50,000 prize)
  • Mid-career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Early Career Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Student Scientist of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year ($10,000 prize)
  • Science Engagement Initiative of the Year ($10,000 prize).

As a winner or finalist, you will be recognised for your work by your peers, scientific organisations and the wider community. You will also be invited to attend the awards ceremony in September, with the opportunity to network with senior government representatives, industry leaders and key stakeholders in the STEM community.

The Premier's Science Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding scientific research and engagement taking place in Western Australia.

Now in their 22nd year, these awards have been given to more than 100 of WA's best scientists, STEM students, educators and engagement initiatives, recognising WA's significant talent and capability to solve local and global problems.

Science, innovation and technology are at the frontline of efforts to diversify the WA economy. Developing STEM skills will ensure that Western Australians are well-placed to take up jobs in new and emerging industries such as batteries and critical minerals, new energy and space.

    Nominations are also open for the WA Science Hall of Fame, which was established in 2007 and recognises exceptional, lifelong contributions made by Western Australians to STEM. 

    Applications for the Premier's Science Awards and nominations for the WA Science Hall of Fame close at 10am (AWST) on Thursday 27 April 2023.

    Find out more.