About the Road Safety Commission

As the voice of road safety in Western Australia, the Road Safety Commission is dedicated to tackling road trauma, which is one of the biggest and most sustained causes of death and injury in the community.
Last updated:

Road Safety Commission of WA

The Road Safety Commission (Commission) is a business unit within WA Police , that reports to the Minister for Road Safety, David Michael.

First created in July 2015, the Commission was transitioned into WA Police on July 1, 2017, as part of the State Government’s Machinery of Government changes to create collaborative departments focused on delivering services in a more efficient and effective way.

The Road Safety Commission is responsible for reducing road trauma on WA roads by supporting the State Government’s Driving Change – Road Safety Strategy for Western Australia 2020-2030 and a Safe System approach to road safety using the principals of Safe Road Use, Safe Roads and Roadsides, Safe Speeds, and Safe Vehicles.

The Commission also strives to improve road safety and reduce road trauma through collaboration with key stakeholders within government agencies, the private sector and the community through community education campaigns and community engagement and grants.

Road Safety Commissioner

Adrian Warner was appointed Road Safety Commissioner for Western Australia for a five-year term in April 2020.

Road Trauma Trust Account

The Road Trauma Trust Account (RTTA) receives 100 per cent of the revenue resulting from photographic speed and red-light camera fines.  The funds are managed by the Road Safety Commission and provided to implement priority road safety projects that address road safety initiatives consistent with the State Government’s Driving Change – Road Safety Strategy for Western Australia 2020-2030. Driving Change aims for a reduction in road deaths and serious injuries of 50 – 70 per cent by 2030.

In accordance with the Road Safety Council Act 2002 the Road Safety Council (Council) is responsible for making recommendations to the Minister for Road Safety. The Commission supports the Council and administers the Account.

RTTA funding is allocated each financial year with amounts allocated in the forward estimates for ongoing years to continue road safety projects and programs. The RTTA is subject to the whole of State Government budget process and there are limited funds available.

Submissions for RTTA funding are reviewed by the Commission and then provided to the Council for their consideration to provide recommendations to the Minister for Road Safety.

The RTTA funds several road safety projects and programs which are selected based on their ability to deliver outcomes for the Driving Change Strategy. These projects are coordinated by the Commission, with most being delivered by other State Government agencies as well as other entities.