South West Conservation Estate management

The Department of Biodiversity Conservation and Attractions and the six Noongar regional corporations will enter into management agreements for the Conservation Estate's care and protection.

The South West Conservation Estate

The South West Conservation Estate refers to all lands and waters within the South West Native Title Settlement Area and includes State forests, national parks, nature reserves, and other areas set aside for conservation, currently managed by the Department of Biodiversity Conservation and Attractions (DBCA).

Co-operative and joint management

The Noongar people are the Traditional Owners of the land and waters in the Settlement Area and have cultural responsibilities in relation to Noongar Land. The DBCA has a statutory responsibility to manage the Conservation Estate.

Through the Settlement, the Noongar people and the DCBA will enter into agreements to recognise their mutual rights and obligations. Specifically, the agreements will acknowledge the continuing cultural, spiritual and social connections of the Noongar people to the Settlement Area, and their unique traditional knowledge and expertise in the future management of the Conservation Estate.

See the documents below for further information.


Fact Sheet - Co-operative and Joint Management Agreements - September 2017
Fact Sheet - Noongar Recognition Act - September 2017
Page reviewed 21 July 2020