Training Accreditation Council's Jurisdiction

The Training Accreditation Council (TAC) is responsible for the registration of training providers delivering nationally recognised training to domestic students in Western Australia only, or in both Western Australia and Victoria.
Last updated:


TAC will only accept registration applications from organisations:

  • where the head office is located in Western Australia, or
  • where all of the intended delivery and assessment is in WA, or in WA and Victoria only.

TAC does not register or regulate providers in WA which deliver nationally recognised training to:

  • students in states other than WA and Victoria, including online delivery, or
  • international students on a student visa.

Providers in these categories fall under the jurisdiction of the national regulator, the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA). For further information, please visit ASQA's website. (opens in new window)

Note, RTOs delivering nationally recognised training on Christmas Island must also be registered with ASQA.

Course accreditation

Under a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between ASQA and TAC, the responsibility for course accreditation depends upon whether or not the course owner is:

  • an RTO registered with TAC - must apply to TAC for accreditation
  • an RTO registered with ASQA - must apply to ASQA for accreditation
  • not an RTO - can apply to any course accrediting body for accreditation.


TAC can only investigate complaints against RTOs it has registered, and only in relation to compliance with the Standards for Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) 2015. If a complaint falls outside this jurisdiction, it may be referred to another body as appropriate.

For further information regarding complaints, please visit the complaints information page. (opens in new window)