Categories and criteria

Nine award categories cover community, environmental, litter, social, waste and heritage projects. Regional communities can enter one, or up to all of the nine categories. Valid projects for the 2024 Awards are those started, maintained or completed between July 2023 and June 2024.
Last updated:

Under each heading you can read more about the categories and the criteria and view project examples. Category winners receive prize money of up to $1000 thanks to the Keep Australia Beautiful Council and to sponsors. There are additional sponsor prizes.

Litter Action Award

Recognises innovation and achievements in reducing and managing litter. Judges look for:

  • Litter clean-up activities by the community and/or local government.
  • Litter-awareness signs and/or education projects.
  • Integration of litter management into a broader waste management strategy.
  • Community/regional litter action to assist with preventative and education measures.

General Appearance Award

Recognises improvements to a community’s general appearance including; approaches, sporting areas, public parks and gardens, streets, including footpaths and verges. Judges look for:

  • A tidy and well-maintained community, including parks and gardens, streets, footpaths and median strips.
  • Projects that have enhanced a streetscape.
  • Restoration of prominent buildings.
  • Water wise road side planting.
Jurien Bay development completion

Community Action and Wellbeing Award

Recognises the achievements of a community in creating a healthy, vibrant place that has actively engaged groups across sectors. Judges look for:

  • Sound working relationships between the community and local governments leading to successful outcomes. Includes town management strategies and development of facilities. 
  • Involvement of youth groups, schools and clubs in positive community management activities.
  • Fauna and flora protection and/or rehabilitation activities.
  • Cultural heritage celebrations/projects.
  • Provision for an accessible community, including picnic areas, playgrounds. toilets and carparks
  • Sponsored by The Rural Aid Community Builders Program, with $1,000 towards a professional development experience or conference including travel.  

Heritage and Culture Award

Recognises a community’s outstanding commitment to the conservation and celebration of a community’s indigenous and non-indigenous heritage and culture. Judges look for:

  • Successful outcomes from community/government strategies/initiatives designed to address preservation of cultural or natural history buildings and sites. 
  • Development and/or implementation of innovative, community-based strategic or business plans relating to historic or cultural preservation and/or restoration.
  • Research into, the protection, and display, of culturally significant sites, records and artefacts. 
  • ​Celebration, within and by the local community, of culturally significant events/traditions.

Waste Management Award

Recognises innovation and achievements in reducing and managing waste. Judges look for:

  • Adequate, accessible, visible litter and recycling bins in high traffic areas and public parks/areas.
  • Cigarette butt disposal facilities in public parks/areas.
  • Recovery and re-use of resources such as organics, green materials, glass, paper, cardboard, aluminium and plastic.
  • Innovative use of recovered resources, (e.g. composting).
  • Integration of resource recovery, circular activities, recycling and waste management activities into a broader waste management strategy.
  • Recycling education and awareness programs, literature and/or signage by local government, schools and/or community groups.

Young Legends Award

Recognises achievement by an individual or group/s of young people (under 25) who have contributed to the sustainability of their own community across any area. Can be school or community based. Judges look for:

  • Successful outcomes for the community arising from youth-initiated/led action. Including youth groups or committees.
  • Demonstration of initiative, leadership and strength of character in taking action on behalf of a community.

Sponsored by Bank of I.D.E.A.S. The winner/s will receive $1000 prize for personal development, conference attendance or to run an event. 

        Entrant Example: Port and South Hedland's Young Legend.

Environmental Sustainability Award

environmental sustainability areas

Recognises achievements in adaptation to environmental change. One project focusing on the preservation of natural environment, water conservaton and energy efficiency. Judges look for:

Water - Innovative design in water and waste water re-use and implementation of water sensitive urban design principles.  

Energy - Sustainable energy management and education which focuses on innovative energy efficiency measures. Programs and partnerships which encourage community involvement in strategies focussing on renewable energy and climate change issues. 

Nature conservation - Community education and/or involvement in the implementation of strategies on environmental protection. Landcare, Coastcare or similar initiatives. Examples include wildlife corridors, feral animal management plans, weed eradication or addressing salinity and soil erosion.

Sponsored by Botanic Gardens and Park Authority, with the category winner receiving mentoring in addition to $500.

  Entrant example: York's Bushland Garden

Environmental Education Award

Recognises an outstanding initiative for its innovative environmental advocacy and or awareness program. Judges look for;

  • Education initiatives/awareness programs on sustainability, the environment and conservation.
  • Innovative approaches to environmental education.
  • Environmental education leading to empowerment and behaviour change.
  • Community and or local government encouragement of, and involvement in, youth activities, particularly  environment and conservation activities.

Sponsored by WA Landcare Network. The winner will receive $500 towards a landcare project in their town (e.g. purchase of seedlings, an event, or signage for a landcare/environmental project).

Entrant example: Walpole's Tale of Two Trees

Community Containers for Change Award

Judges look for an initiative that has impacted the community. Schools, local councils, business, organisations or individuals can lead the initiative. It's not the amount of refunds that are assessed but the positive benefit to the community.

Sponsored by Containers for Change WA , this award enables a community to be recognised for how their 10c beverage containers refunds has positively benefited their community. Prize money of $500 is awarded to the winner.

Leadership Award

This Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated leadership skills across any of the categories. It is given at the State Judges' discretion and could be for litter action, community engagement or environmental advocacy.

Example: Wongan HIlls community member, Michael Godfrey