Goldfields-Esperance regional planning

The Goldfields–Esperance region comprises nine local governments: the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder and the shires of Ravensthorpe, Esperance, Dundas, Coolgardie, Menzies, Leonora, Laverton and Ngaanyatjarraku.
Last updated: 17 May 2022

Goldfields–Esperance region

Famously rich in mineral wealth, the Goldfields-Esperance regions contains a diversity of social, economic and natural environments. Historically and presently, the growth of the region’s mining industry has heavily influenced infrastructure investment, population growth and the development of many of the region’s settlements. Unique natural landscapes, including deserts and scenic coastal areas, also underpin valuable tourism and agricultural sectors. 

The geographic extent of the region is shown on this map.

Local planning

Local governments are involved in planning for local communities by administering local planning strategies and schemes to ensure appropriate planning controls exist for land use and development. 

Local planning strategies establish the planning framework for each local government, and provide the strategic basis for local planning schemes. Local planning schemes contain planning controls such as designation of appropriate land uses, residential densities and development standards. 

Where they exist, local planning strategies and local planning schemes for Goldfields-Esperance local government areas can be found in the Local planning section.

Central regions land capacity analysis

The Central regions land capacity analysis provides a broad overview of the land capacity of settlements in the Mid West, Gascoyne and Goldfields–Esperance regions with respect to forecast population growth. Based on the content of applicable local planning instruments, it examines existing and future land capacity in each local government.

Regional planning and infrastructure frameworks