Great Southern regional planning

The Great Southern region officially comprises the local government areas of Albany, Broomehill-Tambellup, Cranbrook, Denmark, Gnowangerup, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kent, Kojonup, Plantagenet and Woodanilling.
Last updated:

The Great Southern is internationally recognised for its biodiversity. It has abundant environmentally protected areas, dramatic coastal landscapes and rolling cropping lands. The region is internationally recognised for its Indigenous and European heritage values. The economic development of the region remains closely tied to the agricultural sector, also to tourism and forestry.

Statutory services

The department has statutory planning staff for the assessment of Local Planning Schemes, Strategies amendments to the Scheme, structure plans and subdivision relevant to the Great Southern region.

For further information, contact the Department's Albany office.

Regional planning and infrastructure frameworks