Department of the Premier and Cabinet - Executive Government

The arm of government responsible for carrying out or enacting laws.

Executive Government in WA refers to government ministers who make policy decisions (such as the Cabinet) and administer government (such as the Executive Council) as well as the arm of government that carries out laws enacted by government (the Public Sector).

While WA's constitutional laws provide for the Governor to act as head of State, most of the Governor's constitutional powers are exercised on advice from Cabinet ministers, principally the Premier.


Show more
The Cabinet’s role is to make decisions about government policy.

Government ministers meet as a body called the Cabinet. WA's current Labor Government is led by Premier Mark McGowan and has 17 ministers in the Cabinet.

It meets weekly and is chaired by the Premier. Cabinet documents, discussions and decisions are confidential so that ministers can discuss issues openly and frankly at Cabinet meetings.

Cabinet meetings are regularly scheduled in regional WA as part of the Community Cabinet program. Community Cabinet gives communities outside of Perth an opportunity to discuss local issues with the Premier and ministers. The State Parliament also holds a regional sitting of the Legislative Assembly in Bunbury each year.

There are currently four sub-committees of Cabinet:

  • Expenditure Review Committee of Cabinet
  • Jobs and Economic Diversification Cabinet Sub-Committee
  • Community Safety and Family Support Cabinet Sub-Committee
  • Security and Emergency Committee of Cabinet.

Information and templates:

Executive Council

Show more
Advises the Governor on government matters.

The Executive Council is chaired by the Governor of WA. It comprises all Cabinet ministers as appointed by the Governor on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen.

The Executive Council’s role is to advise the Governor on matters relating to the government and give legal form to Cabinet decisions which have no legal status in their own right.

Executive Council meeting dates and submissions deadlines 

July to December 2019.
Date of Meeting Deadline for Submissions
 9.00am Tuesday, 9 July  4.00pm Wednesday, 3 July
 9.00am Tuesday, 23 July  4.00pm Wednesday, 17 July
 1.30pm Monday, 6 August  4.00pm Wednesday, 31 July
 9.00am Tuesday, 20 August   4.00pm Wednesday, 14 August
 9.00am Wednesday, 3 September  4.00pm Wednesday, 28 August
 9.00am Tuesday, 17 September  4.00pm Wednesday, 11 September
 9.00am Tuesday, 2 October  4.00pm Wednesday, 25 September
 9.00am Tuesday, 15 October  4.00pm Wednesday, 9 October
 9.00am Tuesday, 29 October  4.00pm Wednesday, 23 October
 9.00am Tuesday, 12 November  4.00pm Wednesday, 6 November
 9.00am Tuesday, 26 November  4.00pm Wednesday, 20 November
 9.00am Tuesday, 10 December  4.00pm Wednesday, 4 December
 9.00am Tuesday, 20 December  4.00pm Wednesday, 17 December

Meetings are at Government House, unless otherwise advised.

In the event Ministers are delayed for the commencement of a meeting, the Official Secretary, Government House must be notified as soon as possible on 61 8  9429 9199.

If a meeting date is unsuitable, Ministers may arrange to be substituted by another Minister.

The Executive Government Officer must be notified of any changes prior to the meeting on 61 8 6552 5754.

Further information:

Public Sector

Show more
All government departments and agencies.

Our role is to serve the WA community to deliver better outcomes for everyone.

The public sector administers and enforces laws in WA and implements the legislative and executive policies of government.

Browse WA ministers and their departments, and WA legislation.

Page reviewed 19 September 2019