Single-Use Plastic Working Group

Stage one of Western Australia’s Plan for Plastics includes the phase-out of several single-use plastic items, including plastic straws by the end of 2021.
Single-use plastic working group

Plastic straws are a life need for some people in the community on a permanent or temporary basis. To ensure regulatory actions to ban single-use plastic straws will allow ongoing access for those with a disability or health need who require a straw, the State Government established the Plastic Straws Working Group. The inaugural working group meeting was held on 24 February 2021. Membership consists of representatives from the disability, health, aged care, retail, hospitality and environment sectors, and State Government agencies. 

On 13 July 2021, the Plastic Straws Working Group was expanded to include local government, catering, packaging and grocery sectors. Renamed the Single-Use Plastic Working Group, it will provide input into the design of actions to implement the Plan for Plastics and continue to address the accessibility and personal needs surrounding plastic straws and other single-use plastic items. The group will meet every two months or as required.

Single-Use Plastic Working Group members include:

Organisation Member
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation 

Michelle Andrews (Chair)
Director General

Australian Hotels Association WA Bradley Woods
Chief Executive Officer
Australian Medical Association (WA) Inc Dr Tony Ryan
Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation Ltd.

Peter Brisbane
Government Partnership Manager

Australian Retailers Association

Jason Robertson
Director Sustainability

Brightwater  Janet Wagland
General Manager Community
Carers Advisory Council WA Esme Bowen
Council on the Ageing WA Christine Allen
Chief Executive Officer
Department of Communities Bronwynn Comerford
Sector Support Manager
Department of Health David McCallum
Senior Policy Officer
Developmental Disability WA Leticia Grant
Senior Advocate
Master Grocers Association

Jos de Bruin
Chief Executive Officer

National Disability Services Julie Waylen
State Manager, Western Australia
National Retail Association David Stout
Director, Policy
Pharmacy Guild of Australia Matthew Tweedie
Plastic Free Foundation Rebecca Prince-Ruiz
Executive Director
People with Disabilities (WA) Inc Brendan Cullinan
Executive Director
Restaurant and Catering Industry Association of Australia

Tom Green
Manager, Policy and Government

South West Aboriginal Medical Service Lesley Nelson
Chief Executive Officer
WA Local Government Association

Rebecca Brown
Manager, Waste and Recycling

WWF Australia Katinka Day
No Plastics in Nature Policy Manager
Page reviewed 13 August 2021