Kemerton groundwater subareas water management plan

This plan provides a basis for groundwater licence assessments and allocation within the Kemerton subareas.
Last updated:

Plan release information

The Kemerton groundwater subareas water management plan was released in December 2007.

The plan includes allocation limits, which define how much water is available in the Kemerton plan area. It explains how the department will manage water resources and monitor, measure and evaluate the objectives of the plan.

The evaluation statement 2007–2015 reported on the first eight years of the plan's implementation.

Water allocation planning in Kemerton

The state government identified the Kemerton Industrial Park as a strategic industrial site for the South West region.

The site's ability to provide groundwater on a sustainable basis to potential industries within the park was investigated. This provided new information on the hydrogeology of the area, potential use of the groundwater and identified groundwater-dependent ecosystems.

Careful planning is needed to make sure that the community's water needs, as well as the environment, are protected while providing secure water supplies.

Plan area

The Kemerton groundwater subareas are about 117 kilometres south of Perth. The area covers more than 376 km2 of the Swan coastal plain, with the western-half characterised by three sets of stabilised dunes that run parallel to the coast, while the eastern half features a flat alluvial plain.

The plan covers parts of the groundwater resources of the Bunbury and South West Coastal groundwater areas.

Water resources

The plan includes the Superficial, Cattamarra Coal Measures, Leederville and Yarragadee aquifers.

For management purposes, the area is divided into five subareas – Myalup, Wellesley, Kemerton Industrial Park North, Kemerton Industrial Park South and Australind.

Kemerton groundwater plan area and subareas


Kemerton groundwater subareas water management plan

Kemerton groundwater subareas water management plan: Evaluation statement 2007–2015