Plastic Straws Working Group

Stage one of Western Australia’s Plan for Plastics includes the phase-out of several single-use plastic items, including plastic straws by 2023.
Plastic straws working group visual

Plastic straws are a life need for some people in the community, on a permanent or temporary basis. To ensure regulatory actions to phase-out single-use plastic straws will allow ongoing access for those with a disability or health need who require a straw, the State Government established the Plastic Straws Working Group. The inaugural working group meeting was held on 24 February 2021. The group will meet every two months or as required.

Membership consists of representatives from the disability, health, aged care, retail, hospitality and environment sectors, and State Government agencies. 

Plastic Straws Working Group members include:

Organisation Member
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation 

Mike Rowe (Chair)
Director General

Australian Hotels Association WA Bradley Woods
Chief Executive Officer
Australian Medical Association (WA) Inc Dr Tony Ryan
Brightwater  Janet Wagland
General Manager Community
Carers Advisory Council WA Esme Bowen
Council on the Ageing WA Christine Allen
Chief Executive Officer
Department of Communities Bronwynn Comerford
Sector Support Manager
Department of Health David McCallum
Senior Policy Officer
Developmental Disability WA Leticia Grant
Senior Advocate
National Disability Services Julie Waylen
State Manager, Western Australia
National Retail Association David Stout
Director, Policy
Pharmacy Guild of Australia Matthew Tweedie
Plastic Free Foundation Rebecca Prince-Ruiz
Executive Director
People with Disabilities (WA) Inc Brendan Cullinan
Executive Director
South West Aboriginal Medical Service Lesley Nelson
Chief Executive Officer
WWF Australia Katinka Day
No Plastics in Nature Policy Manager


Members of the Plastic Straws Working Group

Members of the Plastic Straws Working Group:

Front row (left to right): Esme Bowen, Sophie Keay (proxy), Brendan Cullinan, Mike Rowe (Chair)
Back row (left to right): Bronwynn Comerford, Leticia Grant, Christine Allen, Dr Tony Ryan
On screen (top - left to right): David McCallum, Lesley Nelson, Melissa Benson (proxy), Bradley Woods
On screen (bottom - left to right): Janet Wagland, David Stout, Rebecca Prince-Ruiz, Katinka Day

Page reviewed 20 April 2021