Remote Aboriginal communities

Working together to improve the lives of Aboriginal people living in remote communities and town-based communities.
Last updated:

About 12,000 people live in more than 200 remote Aboriginal communities throughout Western Australia. Another 3,000 Aboriginal people live in 37 town-based communities.

Most remote communities and town-based communities are in the Kimberley region, with others in the Pilbara, Goldfields and Mid West-Gascoyne regions. View maps of remote Aboriginal communities in WA.

Living conditions in remote areas are generally poorer and opportunities more limited than in places where there is better access to investment, jobs, training, education, supports and services.

The Department of Communities is working in partnership with Aboriginal people and across government on long-term, sustainable reforms to deliver better services and more opportunities in regional and remote areas.

  • The North-West Aboriginal Housing Fund is investing in affordable and stable housing options and person-centred supports for Aboriginal people in the Kimberley and Pilbara.
  • Mainstream housing options for residents of town-based communities are being explored by the Department of Communities, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage, Pilbara Development Commission and the Aboriginal Lands Trust, in consultation with residents.
  • Department of Communities provides property and tenancy management services to 2,699 households in 112 remote communities and town-based communities.
  • Remote Municipal Services Program provides limited municipal services for 167 remote and town-based Aboriginal communities communities.
  • The Department of Communities provides affordable, supported accommodation for people accessing employment, education or training in the Kimberley and Pilbara. The facilities are operated by Nirrumbuk Aboriginal Corporation (Broome), Wunan (Halls Creek) and Pilbara Meta Maya (South Hedland).
  • Department of Communities engages contractors to deliver maintenance works to housing in remote Aboriginal communities.

The Aboriginal Lands Trust (ALT) estate covers 23 million hectares of land in Western Australia, which is 8.7 per cent of the State. About 12,000 people live on the ALT estate in 145 communities.

The State Government is working with Native Title groups and Aboriginal communities to resolve claims and leverage community defined opportunities. It is also developing a whole-of-government Aboriginal affairs strategy. Visit the Aboriginal engagement page for more information.

Note: There may be rules in place for visiting remote Aboriginal communities in Western Australia.