State elections

How parliamentary elections are conducted and details of past elections.
Last updated:

Western Australia has two houses of State Parliament, the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

Following amendments to electoral legislation in 2011, State General Elections for both houses are now held every four years on the second Saturday in March.

Western Australia is divided into 59 Legislative Assembly districts and six Legislative Council regions.

During an election, one candidate is elected for each Legislative Assembly district and six candidates are elected for each Legislative Council region.